HOME


The BASICS


• Mass Times


• Coming Events


• Sacraments


• Ministries


• Parish Staff


• Consultative Bodies


• Photo Gallery


• Virtual Tour


• History


• Contribute


PUBLICATIONS


• Bulletin: PDF


• In Your Midst


• Pastor's Desk


DEPARTMENTS


• Becoming Catholic


• Bookstore


• Faith Formation


• Funerals


• Immigrant Assistance


• Liturgy


• Mental Health


• Music


• Outreach


• Pastoral Care


• Weddings


• Young Adults


• Youth Ministry


PRAYER


KIDS' PAGE


SITE INFO


The coming days

 

 

  • Sunday, August 23 21ST SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
  • Monday, August 24
    • Sandwiches for St. Martin de Porres Shelter
  • Tuesday, August 25  Louis
  • Wednesday, August 26
    • Cathedral Tour, 1:00pm
  • Thursday, August 27 Monica
  • Friday, August 28 Augustine
    • Taizé Prayer, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, August 29  Passion of St. John the Baptist
  • Sunday, August 30  22ND SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
  • Monday, August 31

 

  • Tuesday, September 1
    • World Day of Prayer for Creation
    • Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament, 6pm-7pm
  • Wednesday, September 2
    • O’Dea High School Mass of the Holy Spirit, 10am
    • Cathedral Tour, 1:00pm
    • Mass with Crozier and Legacy Societies, 5:30pm
  • Thursday, September 3  Gregory the Great
  • Friday, September 4
    • FIRST FRIDAY
    • Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament, 9am-1pm
    • Holy Hour, Noon
    • Taizé Prayer, 6:30pm
    • Young Adult Simple Supper following Taizé
    • Mark Hilliard Wilson Guitar Concert, 7:30pm
  • Saturday, September 5
    • Mass with Special Needs Community, 10:00am

 

  • Sunday, September 6  23RD SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
    • Mass with Catholics Teaching in Public Schools, Noon
  • Monday, September 7
    • Labor Day
    • Parish Office Closed
    • One Mass Only, 9:00am
  • Tuesday, September 8  Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Wednesday, September 9  Peter Claver
    • Cathedral Tour, 1:00pm
    • RCIA, 7:00pm           
  • Thursday, September 10
  • Friday, September 11
    • Taizé Prayer, 6:30pm
    • Capella Romana, Rachmaninoff’s All-Night Vigil, 7:30pm
  • Saturday, September 12  Most Holy Name of Mary
    • Young Adult Volunteer Opportunity at St. Mary’s Food Bank, 10am-2pm

 

  • Sunday, September 13  24TH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
    • Children’s Faith Formation, 11:00am
  • Monday, September 14  Exaltation of the Holy Cross
    • Hunthausen Charity Golf Tournament at Newcastle
    • Parish Office Closed
    • Sandwiches for St. Martin de Porres Shelter
  • Tuesday, September 15  Our Lady of Sorrows
  • Wednesday, September 16  Cornelius & Cyprian
    • Senior Trip, all day
    • Cathedral Tour, 1:00pm
    • RCIA, 7:00pm
  • Thursday, September 17  Robert Bellarmine
  • Friday, September 18
    • Taizé Prayer, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, September 19  Januarius

     

  • Sunday, September 20  25TH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
    • Children’s Faith Formation, 11:00am
    • Ministries Fair, after morning Masses
    • Young Adult Reception following 5:30pm Mass
  • Monday, September 21  Matthew, evangelist
  • Tuesday, September 22
  • Wednesday, September 23  Pio of Pietrelcina
    • Cathedral Tour, 1:00pm
    • RCIA, 7:00pm           
  • Thursday, September 24
  • Friday, September 25
    • Taizé Prayer, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, September 26  Cosmas & Damian

 

  • Sunday, September 27  26TH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
    • Rite of Reception into Full Communion, 10am
    • Children’s Faith Formation, 11:00am
    • Infant Baptisms, Noon
  • Monday, September 28  Wenceslaus; Lawrence Ruiz & Companions
    • Sandwiches for St. Martin de Porres
  • Tuesday, September 29  Michael, Gabriel, & Raphael
  • Wednesday, September 30  Jerome
    • Cathedral Tour, 1:00pm
    • Sabbath: Young Adult Retreat Night #1, 7pm-9pm

 

 

Save the Date!

    • Friday, October 2, 2015
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Sunday, October 4, 2015
      • Respect Life Sunday
      • First Sunday Youth Celebration, Noon
    • Saturday, October 24, 2015
      • Infant Baptisms, 5:30pm
    • Sunday, October 25, 2015
      • Dancers from Nuestros Pequeños Hermanos, 10 and Noon
    • Sunday, November 1, 2015
      • Solemnity of All Saints
      • First Sunday Youth Celebration, Noon
    • Monday, November 2, 2015  Commemoration of the Faithful Departed
      • Masses at 8:15am, 5:30pm, and 7:30pm
      • Requiem Mass, 7:30pm
    • Friday, November 6, 2015
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Saturday, November 7, 2015
      • Mass for Deceased Alumni of O’Dea High School, 11am
    • Thursday, November 12, 2015
      • Mass for Deceased Homeless, 5:30pm
    • Sunday, November 22, 2015
      • Infant Baptisms, 10:00am
    • Thursday, November 26, 2015
      • Mass of Thanksgiving Day, 9:30am
    • Sunday, November 29, 2015
      • Advent Bazaar after Morning Masses
    • Friday, December 4, 2015
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Saturday, December 5, 2015
      • Madre de las Americas, Noon
    • Sunday, December 6, 2015
      • First Sunday Youth Celebration, Noon
    • Monday, December 7, 2015
      • Vigil of the Immaculate Conception of the BVM, 5:30pm
    • Tuesday, December 8, 2015
      • Masses of the Immaculate Conception, 8:15am, 10:00am, 5:30pm
      • Solemn Opening of the Jubilee Year of Mercy, 5:30pm
    • Saturday, December 12, 2015
      • Simbang Gabi, 11:00am
    • Sunday, December 13, 2015
      • A Service of Readings and Carols, 7:30pm
    • Monday, December 14, 2015
      • Advent Penance, 7:30pm
    • Saturday, December 19, 2015
      • Advent Penance, 4:00pm
    • Monday, December 21, 2015
      • Solemnity of the Dedication of the Cathedral, 2015
    • Tuesday, December 22, 2015
      • Anniversary of the Dedication of St. James Cathedral
    • Thursday, December 24, 2015
      • Christmas Eve
      • Vigil Mass of Christmas, 5:30pm
      • Christmas Mass during the Night, 10:00pm (NOTE TIME CHANGE!)
    • Friday, December 25, 2015
      • Christmas Day
      • Masses at 8, 10, 12
      • Solemn Vespers at 4:00pm
      • No 5:30pm Mass, no Taizé today
    • Thursday, December 31, 2015
      • Vigil of Mary, Mother of God, 5:30pm
      • New Year’s Eve Gala Concert, 11:00pm

     

    • Friday, January 1, 2016
      • Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God
      • Masses at 8, 10, 12
      • No Exposition, no Holy Hour today
    • Sunday, January 3, 2016
      • Epiphany of the Lord
      • Sunday, January 10, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, 10:00am
    • Saturday, January 16, 2016
      • Mass for Peace and Justice in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., 11:00am
    • Sunday, January 17, 2016
      • Santo Niño Celebration, Noon
    • Sunday, January 31, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, Noon

    • Friday, February 5, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Sunday, February 7, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, 10:00am
      • First Sunday Youth Celebration, Noon
    • Wednesday, February 10, 2015  Ash Wednesday
      • Masses at 8:15am, 10:00am, 12:10pm, and 6:00pm
    • Thursday, February 11, 2016
      • Rite of Election, 7:00pm
    • Saturday, February 13, 2016
      • Rite of Election, Noon
    • Wednesday, February 17, 2016
      • Rite of Election, 7:00pm
    • Thursday, February 18, 2016
      • Rite of Election, 7:00pm

    • Friday, March 4, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Saturday, March 5, 2016
      • Day of Mercy, 9am-5pm
    • Monday, March 14, 2016
      • Lenten Penance Service, 7:30pm
    • Thursday, March 17, 2016
      • O’Dea St. Patrick’s Day Mass with O’Dea High School, 10:00am
      • Archdiocesan Chrism Mass, 7:00pm
    • Sunday, March 20, 2016
      • Palm Sunday
      • Masses follow the usual Sunday schedule
      • Solemn Procession of Palms, 10:00am
    • Monday, March 21, 2016  Monday of Holy Week
      • Masses at 8:15am and 5:30pm, Midday Prayer at 12:10pm
    • Tuesday, March 22, 2016  Tuesday of Holy Week
      • Masses at 8:15am and 5:30pm, Midday Prayer at 12:10pm
    • Wednesday, March 23, 2016  Wednesday of Holy Week
      • Masses at 8:15am and 5:30pm, Midday Prayer at 12:10pm
      • Office of Tenebrae, 7:30pm
    • Thursday, March 24, 2016  Holy Thursday
      • Morning Prayer, 8:30am
      • Evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper, 6:00pm
      • Office of Compline, 9:45pm
    • Friday, March 25, 2016  Good Friday
      • Morning Prayer, 8:30am
      • Tre Ore, Noon
      • Celebration of the Passion of the Lord, 6:00pm
    • Saturday, March 26, 2016  Holy Saturday
      • Morning Prayer, 8:30am
      • Easter Vigil in the Holy Night, 8:30pm
    • Sunday, March 27, 2016  Easter Sunday
      • Masses at 8, 10, 12, and 5:30pm
      • Solemn Vespers at 4:00pm
    • Monday, March 28 – Saturday, April 2  Octave of Easter
      • Daily solemn Masses at 8:15am and 5:30pm with music
      • Midday Prayer at 12:10pm

    • Friday, April 1, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Sunday, April 3, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, 10:00am
      • Divine Mercy Celebration, Noon

    • Sunday, May 1, 2016
      • First Communion Sunday, Noon
    • Friday, May 6, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Sunday, May 8, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, Noon
    • Sunday, May 15, 2016  Pentecost
    • Thursday, May 26, 2016
      • Holy Names Academy Baccalaureate Mass, 1:15pm
    • Sunday, May 29, 2016  Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ
      • Corpus Christi Procession, 10:00am

    • Wednesday, June 1, 2016
      • O’Dea High School Baccalaureate Mass, 7:00pm
    • Thursday, June 2, 2016
      • Seattle Preparatory Academy Baccalaureate Mass, 7:00pm
    • Friday, June 3, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Saturday, June 4, 2016
      • Sending of pilgrims to World Youth Day, 5:30pm
    • Thursday, June 9, 2016
      • Mass with CYO Champions, 5:30pm
    • Saturday, June 11, 2016
      • Seattle University Baccalaureate Mass, 2:30pm
    • Sunday, June 12, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, 10:00am
    • Saturday, June 25, 2016
      • Ordinations to the Priesthood, 10:00am
    • Monday, June 27, 2016
      • Mass for Deceased Bishops of the Archdiocese of Seattle, 5:30pm

    • Friday, July 1, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Sunday, July 10, 2016
      • Infant Baptisms, Noon
    • Sunday, July 24, 2016
      • Feast of St. James and Parish Picnic

    • Friday, August 5, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm
    • Friday, September 2, 2016
      • First Friday Exposition and Holy Hour, 9am-1pm

     

    Return to St. James Cathedral Parish Website

    804 Ninth Avenue
    Seattle, Washington  98104
    Phone 206.622.3559  Fax 206.622.5303